School Logo

Brooklands Primary and Nursery School

Making Everyday Count

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details

Early Years at Brooklands

When we succeed in giving every child the best start in their early years, we give them what they need today. We also set them up with every chance of success tomorrow.​


Development Matters non-statutory guidance for the early years foundation stage.​Revised 2021

EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage)


EYFS is the Early Years Foundation Stage of education; a set of standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. As your child will celebrate their 5th birthday while they are in Reception at Brooklands, they will complete their EYFS years journey with us.

Recently, the framework within which we develop our EYFS curriculum has changed dramatically. You can read more about the new framework in the documents linked below.


To summarise there are four guiding principles to shape the practice in EYFS.


• every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured


• children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships


• children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.


• importance of learning and development. Children develop and learn at different rates. (See “the characteristics of effective teaching and learning” at paragraph 1.15). The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND).


Our Setting

FS2 is calm and tranquil hub of exciting education with pockets of awe and wonder at every turn. Our two classes, Robin Class and Sparrow Class, share an open plan unit. Children are taught in classes for adult directed teaching such as phonics. In addition the children have access to a wide range of provision which is carefully chosen and organised and has quality resources across every area of learning. 


There are 7 education programmes (previously areas of learning) which are:

Prime Areas:

Communication and Language 

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Physical Development


Specific Areas:



Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design



EYFS Leader


The head of our Early Years Foundation Stage is Miss H Keith. She is responsible for designing, managing and evaluating the delivery of high-quality teaching and learning across the EYFS learning and development areas.