School Logo

Brooklands Primary and Nursery School

Making Everyday Count

Interactive bar

Get in touch

Contact Details




The curriculum at Brooklands Primary School is divided into three separate stages; Foundation stage (Nursery and Reception), Key Stage 1 (Infants – Year 1 and Year 2) and Key Stage 2 (Juniors – Years 3-6).


The curriculum increases in both complexity and sophistication as children progress through the school but is age appropriate, challenging and fun at all stages. We follow guidelines from the revised National Curriculum which gives us the flexibility to plan learning opportunities which are relevant and meaningful to the children at Brooklands. We plan these opportunities through using the Learning Challenge Curriculum which builds on children’s skills and knowledge as they move through the school. We aim to meet the needs and interests of our children and link our curriculum to local and national events. Subjects are creatively linked and teachers present exciting activities. Pre-learning tasks enable us to assess children before starting a new topic. These tasks also help us to understand any misconceptions there may be and what really interests the children. We carefully consider the introduction to a new topic as this needs to be a ‘hook’ to grab hold of the children’s interest. Key skills and essential knowledge and understanding are taught throughout. At the end each learning challenge the children reflect on their learning by completely a post learning task.

See the additional section on EYFS


The subjects of the National Curriculum are as follows: